Books for Children: Character Development – Who Moved My Cheese? for Kids

I have been a little concerned about Aristotle’s mindset and attitude lately and have been looking for ways to help him overcome his “mental limitations”. When I stumbled upon “Who Moved My Cheese? for Kids” in the library, I borrowed it hoping that it might teach him a thing or two about embracing the changes in life and being willing to tackle new things. I find that when Aristotle can relate to a story well, he can adopt the ideas within it so I like getting him books that are about character development written for children.

The purpose of this book is to help children develop the mindset to deal with change in their lives. The message might elude the younger children since the reading level for this book is rated from age 4 and up but Amazon Review puts it into the category for age 9-12 and The School Library Journal from Grade 2-5. Nevertheless, it is a good story to share in preparation for greater understanding as your child grows up. At 5 turning 6, Aristotle enjoyed the story although I do question how much of the moral of the story he took home.

We’ve talked about the story at length and I’ve tried to draw parallels between the analogies within the story and the challenges he faces in his life. Even if he doesn’t get it completely, I figure the book makes a good addition to the home library because it is one we can come back to again and again and confer greater understanding with each review. And since the story is fun, Aristotle enjoys reading it for the sake of the story which is a good start since some of the character development books I have bought for him have been met with resistance.

Published by Shen-Li

SHEN-LI LEE is the author of “Brainchild: Secrets to Unlocking Your Child’s Potential”. She is also the founder of Figur8.net (a website on parenting, education, child development) and RightBrainChild.com (a website on Right Brain Education, cognitive development, and maximising potentials). In her spare time, she blogs on Forty, Fit & Fed, and Back to Basics.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started