2nd Pregnancy Week 16

As far as symptoms go, I have to admit that this pregnancy has been treating me pretty kindly.  After escaping the first trimester, I was pretty much back to normal (aside from the fatigue).  That was until last night…

I’ve forgotten how bad my sinuses can get during pregnancy.  Here’s another reason not to have another baby after this one.  It’s bad enough feeling crook, but feeling crook and having to handle a fussy toddler really takes the cake.

I am beginning to suspect that there is some correlation between my pregnancy symptoms and the medical conditions I am prone to even when I am not pregnant.  For instance, I have a skin condition called Keratosis Pilaris that has affected me since childhood which flared up during my first pregnancy.  I’ve also had problems with my sinuses – hay fever, dust sensitivity, etc. – and during my first pregnancy, my sinuses were perpetually blocked.

Last night, my sinuses were so bad that I couldn’t breathe and I couldn’t stop sneezing.  I was congested right up to my eyeballs and sneezing until my throat was hoarse – yeah, I didn’t think that was possible either.  To top it off, it was a difficult night for Gavin who was upset about something I couldn’t identify.  I couldn’t even get away for a second to attend to myself.

Again I find myself asking how all those mothers with more than two children do it.  If you are one of those mothers, please share your thoughts in the comments below.  Is it just a question of managing because we have to?  Yet why do we put ourselves through it all over again if it was so tough? 

Then again, I could ask myself the same question when I used to run long distance or go hiking.  After every event, I used to tell myself, “Never again.”  Yet, there I am back at it again when the memories of the last event have mellowed. 

I’m sure the joy of having a child has got to surpass any high or ectasy that one might derive out of completing a race or climbing a mountain.  So therein lies my answer.  Although that doesn’t change my decision that this baby will be my last (note to hubby: so don’t even think I’m wavering on the possibility of having another because it ain’t happening).

While I am tired, I can’t breathe while I’m lying down – so here I am running around in circles through a busy, pregnant mind that refuses to go to sleep…

Published by Shen-Li

SHEN-LI LEE is the author of “Brainchild: Secrets to Unlocking Your Child’s Potential”. She is also the founder of Figur8.net (a website on parenting, education, child development) and RightBrainChild.com (a website on Right Brain Education, cognitive development, and maximising potentials). In her spare time, she blogs on Forty, Fit & Fed, and Back to Basics.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started